Spanish National Committee
for Crystallography

The Spanish National Committee for Crystallography is one of the Spanish National Committees whose functions are to represent Spain within relevant international scientific organisations. Specifically, our main commitment is to represent Spain, participating with the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), and therefore, our National Committee exists to:
The Spanish National Committee for Crystallography (founded by CSIC) joined the IUCr in 1949, is a Category III Adhering-Body to the IUCr through the Subdireccion General deGEC3C Organismos y Programas Internacionales (Spanish Ministry of Science and Technology), having three delegates and three votes at the IUCr General Assembly.

Crystallographers working in Spain also have an association called The Crystallography and Crystal Growth Group (Grupo de Cristalografía y Crecimiento Cristalino, GE3C), dependent on the Royal Spanish Society of Chemistry and the Royal Spanish Society of Physics.

International Union of Crystallography (IUCr)
The International Union of Crystallography (UCr) is an International Scientific Union. Its objectives are to promote international cooperation in crystallography and to contribute to all aspects of crystallography, to promote international publication of crystallographic research, to facilitate standardization of methods, units, nomenclatures and symbols, and to form a focus for the relations of crystallography to other sciences.

The IUCr fulfils these objectives by publishing in print and electronically primary scientific journals through Crystallography Journals Online, the series of reference volumes International Tables for Crystallography, distributing the quarterly IUCr Newsletter, awarding the Ewald Prize and the W.H. and W.L. Bragg Prize, implementing outreach initiatives and organising the triennial Congress and General Assembly.

Use this link to search the World Directory of Crystallographers.

Other relevant IUCr links:
Meeting Support Committee
IUCr  Commissions
Gender Equity and Diversity Committee

Crystallography & Teaching Resources

Crystallography is a branch of science that examines crystals, that is, ordered matter. Today we know that crystals are made of  atoms, molecules and/or ions that fit together in repeating patterns, called unit cells, which like bricks stacked in three dimensions form the crystals. With the crystallographic tools developed during the 20th century, we can find out the inner structure of matter, living or inanimate, from which crystals are formed. To know the inner structure of matter means to determine the positions of all atoms and how they are linked together, in many cases forming atomic clusters known as molecules.

To obtain the inner structure of matter, crystallography uses laboratory X-ray diffraction, but also synchrotron X-ray, neutron and electron diffraction, so that crystallographic methods provide a direct measure of the atomic arrangements of materials: from simple metals up to large protein complexes. The atomic structure of matter generates knowledge that is used by chemists, physicists, biologists, and other scientists. This allows usCrystallography not only to understand the properties of matter, but also to modify them for our benefit.

The IUCr web site provides material of use to classroom educators, and links to external web sites of educational value, and among them we suggest a general web site as an introducction to crystallography written in both English and Spanish. 

Current members of the Spanish National Committee


Prof. Juan Manuel García Ruíz
Laboratorio de Estudios Cristalográficos
Instituto Andaluz de Ciencias de la Tierra, CSIC, Granada

Secretary and Spanish Representative to IUCr:

Prof. Armando Albert de la Cruz
Dept. de Cristalografia y Biología Estructural
Instituto de Química-Física "Blas Cabrera", CSIC, Madrid
Telf.:  +34 917459502


Prof. Pilar Gómez Sal

Universidad de Alcalá de Henares, Alcalá de Henares (Spain)

Prof. Santiago García Granda
Universidad de Oviedo, Oviedo (Spain)

Prof. Fernando Lahoz Díaz
Instituto de Síntesis Química y Catálisis Homogénea, CSIC, Zaragoza (Spain)

Prof. Amparo Fuertes Miquel
Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Barcelona, CSIC, Barcelona (Spain)

Prof. Miguel Angel García Aranda
Universidad de Málaga, Málaga (Spain)

Dr. Laura Cañadillas Delgado
Institute Laue-Langevin, Grenoble (France)

Dr. Gemma de la Flor
Karlsruhe Institute for Technology, Karlsruhe (Germany)

Dr. Felipe Gándara Barragán
Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC, Madrid (Spain)


See under this link (in Spanish)